101 E. Court St.
Seguin, Texas 78155
830-303-8856 | Fax: 830-401-0998
Email Patrick Pinder
Assistant Fire Marshal
NOTICE: OUR OFFICE HAS MOVED, PLEASE NOTE NEW ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER ABOVE. ALL FIRE CODE PERMITS ISSUED OUT OF THE NEW OFFICE
Outdoor Burning Laws and Weather Resources
When a Declaration of Disaster regarding Fire Danger is in effect, NO burning, for any reason may be conducted outdoors. When a burn ban is in effect, all outdoor burning, except for agricultural purposes, is prohibited. When no burn ban is in effect, burning may be conducted; however, there are still several Texas laws that regulate outdoor burning. To review the laws please click below on "Texas Outdoor Burning Laws". One of the regulations requires the wind speed to be between 6 and 23 mph. To check your local weather conditions, please click on the "Weather" link below that is closest to the location where you will be burning. If you are unsure of the closest location, click on "Seguin Weather".
Please remember, according to State Law: A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly, with respect to the person's conduct, violates the General Requirements for Allowable Outdoor burning or any other rule promulgated by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality regarding outdoor burning. An offense is punishable for an individual by a fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $50,000, confinement in the county jail for a period not to exceed 180 days, or both. An offense is punishable for a person other than an individual by fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $100,000.
- Outdoor Burning Tips
- Know Your Escape Route!
- Wildfire Safety & Survival Checklist
- Being "Firewise" with Landscaping and Construction
- Be "Firewise" Around Your Home
- Do You Have A Smoke Alarm -- They Save Lives!
- Kids -- Help Sparky Test Your Smoke Alarm!
- Candle with Care
- Grills -- Be Safe
- Don't Let Smoking Cause Your Home to Go Up In Smoke
- Fire Safe Cigarettes
Guadalupe County Fire Departments
Sand Hills VFD